Horseshoe Farm

drivelhead

Hi guys and gals!  I'm a newbie to the forum as some of you may have read already in the introduction thread.  I'm back collecting after many years and have just started building my layout.  So I thought I'd better start a 'build thread'.  Here is the first batch of pictures to show my progress so far.  I am loosely mirroring my day to day work, so Horseshoe Farm will mainly be a dairy unit, but with a few sheep too.  More stock being delivered soon!

faf265c7.jpg

Basic Britains buildings purchased and built untill I've managed to build some from scratch myself!

9f0fb289.jpg

1b01389f.jpg

44299d87.jpg

Painting the base started.

3c8dd7d1.jpg

Nice clean concrete in the tractor shed and workshop!

86c8901e.jpg

Roughing up the grass a bit.

132683ec.jpg

Building some walls!

c685205f.jpg

Need to sort out a background asap!

well come to the forum  i can  see from the introduction you have met some of the nutters on here there are a few more around and will make a appearance.

I am looking forward to seeing your layout  progress and more than likely a trip  to Mandy's website for those extra details  to give you some ideas may be worth a look

i will await  the  next instalment ..... and let you round those loose sheep up  ...ha ha!   

good start, I like the wall building looks like a realistic way to build a stone wall, is that the pea gravel stuff you find in plant pots or the bottom of fish tanks?

Although matey in the red shirt in the last pic seems to be upset about something, got his hands up in the air as if to say sod this wall building or I'm not chasing that loose pig around anymore I quit, farmers looking at him saying go on then bugger off  ;D 

That might only be in my own twisted imagination though  :-:-[

His predecessor in 1961 had an apparently considerably heavier sack. Before 'Health & Safety' rules?

See: http://www.britainsheraldfarm.co.uk/History1961.html