Britain's Volvo 2654

I came across a few conversions done of this model and simply had to get one myself as well! Actually bought two of ebay, one complete and one broken. I have got a load of different parts at hand for it now, as well as big plans - so I'm exited to see if it turns out the way I want it to :) I'm still waiting for some crucial parts though, so I haven't done too much work on it yet.

I have dismantled everything except the front axle, after some thinking I've decided to stick with the original one. I have resprayed the chassis from grey to black and just half an hour ago I began some testing with the bonnet. I was a bit unsure if it needed any primer firstly, but I went for it to see how it goes, afterwards I'll respray it with a slightly darker red color. Hopefully it turns out as good as I imagine, I'm not very experienced when it comes to scratchbuilding or convos - So my biggest fear is to mess up the paint!

2017-08-25_19_04_07.jpg

2017-09-05_18_51_34.jpg

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Just put on a layer of the red color now, might need some more later on though. I thought it looked kind of matte, it might be caused by the primer I guess. Good thing the other one I ordered has a decent bonnet as well :)

Does anyone have any tips when it comes to painting, would it be better to just respray it directly after a decent wash without the primer? I would like a more glossy finish on it.

My advice would be give the item in question a good clean to remove any grease. Then apply your primer (colour of primer not so important with red top coat, but if spraying light colours like yellow then use white primer) 

once set you can apply top coat. You should do several light coats, resist the temptation to paint in first go!  

That way you should get a good quality finish.