Ford 8730 plastic discolouration

Ferret90

I've just dragged this ford out from the back shelf to discover it has changed colours 

it hasn't been in the sun and it has been tucked away in a comer of the shelf so I'm not sure weather this is uv related or just the plastic going funny. I took the cab off and where you would think there should be pure white and has been covered, it is just as bad.

has anyone else had this or any ideas? IMG_7545.thumb.JPG.c4825ba49baa6a65d1b883b002480586.JPGIMG_7546.thumb.JPG.45d0d8d2f2eb5ecfe175c751e90ee0c4.JPG

Im no expert but i would imagine its UV related, i believe certain plastics are susceptible to yellowing, melting and becoming brittle as they age, prolonged exposure to light and temperature fluctuations produce a chemical reaction within the plastic. It seems plastics used by Britains during certain periods are unfortunately prone to all 3 reactions.

see that with white plastics before ,and i seem to remember it being a uv reaction, but cant remember exactly what / why it happens , someone  did say, and somethings ringing a bell in my  memory about the type of oil products used in the plastic, a not to dis-similar issue to the known plastic wheel rot we see on the older stuff. it affects other stuff to,i have 2 ransomes spud harvesters, both stored in sealed boxes, in the dark in the loft, on adding stuff the other day i found one had effectivley bust by its self, the orange plastic had gone very brittle and a oily film had formed over all of it ,, which had also started to melt the rubber bands, yet the other,ok in a different box,but same storage method , is perfectly ok?? i am always carefull if moving the boxes so know its not been bounced or anything. 

8 hours ago, super6 said:

These spud harvesters seem to be notorious for this Sean, lots of them on ebay that look to be falling apart. Afraid to look my one out :huh: