Cultivating Advice Sought.

An Interested Spectator

Question

As my "handle" on here suggests, I am no farming professional, merely an observing amateur.

I have a reasonable knowledge of forage harvesting and equipment. However I know "zip" about cultivating equipment.

I want to put together a diorama of equipment that might be used for cultivating and planting kale for out wintering cattle, and restoring grass afterwards.

Can someone suggest models in 1/32 from any of the main model makers that might be used for this.  I am looking for kit which can be used with tractors in the 90 to 170hp power range, so no Simba Solo's !

Cheers in advance

Adie.

10 answers to this question

We just plough and drill for actual kale but for kale/rape hybrid or turnips for out wintering cattle we give it a pass of the cultivator then got straight in with the drill. If you were going to put grass in behind kale it would be a case of ploughing then drilling it followed by a pass of the rolls, cattle do compact the ground fairly and you do get a lot of stalks laying about on the surface that would need burying

A great deal would depend on your soil type and how much cultivation it would take to achieve a seed bed  :-\ :-\

If you were into older kit then the FTF Ford 7000 and cultivator set would be ideal for working down the ploughing. Many people nowadays seem to use a power harrow straight after the plough, there are a couple on the market UH do a Prosol version, I am old school and I was always told that to use a power harrow was an admission of defeat as it would "beat the soil into submission" rather than create a tilth ::) ::)

If you are ploughing up an older pasture then you would need to break up the turf first otherwise it will become a mat beneath the surface that doesn't rot down properly, we used to use a Rotavator but a set of discs might do the job as well.