flat bed trailer

this is my first attempt at scratch building so any constructive criticism would be gratefully received. its made from a combination of plasticard and plastruct and i would like to know what kind of primer and paints i should use on it, if this turns out as i hope i want to make a lowloader or a float so could some of you truckers out there tell me what the real life diameter of the wheels on these kinds of trailers is. i will post some completed pictures once its all painted, and stickered, with a timber floor and hopefully i will be able to source some lights to, but be patient as with my limited spare time this will probably take me ages. if theres any details i have left out on the trailer please let me know as i may add them before i paint it. can you also tell me as i haven't noticed but is the headboard on flatbeds clad with timber aswell as the bed

post-466-132638557773_thumb.jpg

post-466-132638558004_thumb.jpg

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

That looks very very very nice indeed. One thing i think you may need to raise the edges a tiny bit because at the moment it looks a bit ... i don't know how to say it. But it will look excellent with the timber floor but would look even better if you raised the edges slightly and painted them the same as the rest of the low-loader.

looks good toyboy , most headboards are planked , unless they are kitted out for hauling steel :)

very few trailers have raised edges  so a lip on the undersice would give the depth look unless of course , as we don't have ratchet straps in 1/32 it will keep yer load steady  two britains spud boxes side by side will get you yer width ok  :)