A Bit of Marine Engineering...

I thought I would post up what I get up to when I have to go to work. I have been a Marine Engineer since leaving school, 4 years at College and getting sea time and then the last 16 years working on all manner of ships all over the world.

In recent years I have been involved in ship construction, more specifically luxury yachts. Recent changes to the engineer licence systems for commercial vessels means that I have had to move away from the desk and get back to running an engine room and doing some spanner work, which I don't mind in the least. Currently, I have quite a sweet deal working as a Chief Engineer on an Italian built yacht which his best described as 'interesting'. Thankfully, I only have to work 8 weeks on, before getting 8 weeks off.

So, I have been quite vocal in my distaste for modern Caterpillar engines, the first pic shows why. I had been on the vessel a week and it had been having 'generator issues'. Cue an inspection of the number 2 generator, a 200KW C9 engine, to find diesel fuel in the coolant. The engine had been rebuilt not too long ago, but obviously not very well. Naturally this happened 2 days before we were supposed to be somewhere else, so we had to get stuck in to it with our service agent who came over from Florida with a cylinder head, as there were non available in Europe of course!

post-2344-0-39674300-1345909512_thumb.jp

• Like 2

These C9 engines are particularly troublesome, being the first Tier 3 on and off highway fully electronic engines produced by Caterpillar.

The injectors are controlled by high pressure oil from the sump, which means the engine is quite powerful and efficient. Those of you familiar with engines will have already spotted the fundamental flaw in this design, fuel injectors operated by high pressure lube oil. So after a few thousand hours when the contaminants in the oil have deposited themselves in the fuel pump, the engine stops working, completely.