Be aware any owner drivers!

ctsboy

I know that in the past a few members have posted asking what to charge for a man and tractor, well i spent the day today in a talk held at work on cultivations,energy and grain storage by a chap who is like a agric buisness troubleshooter, and the rising fuel costs were discused and we worked out that on todays fuel price a 100HPtractor(of which i bet very few owner drivers run) alone will us £14 per hour of fuel :o :o :o :o :o :o :o so if you then add in all the other costs for example:you sat on the seat, repair cost the list goes on. So in my view and i'm no expert but alot of owner drivers need to look deeply at costings or other options like have fuel from the farmer you are working for etc. But i think that the price to make any money should be in the £28 or above bracket. (but like i say i'm no expert)I thought i would share with you what i found out today.

This is just man and tractor no machine!

When i was self employed 6 years ago there where people going out with 140hp tractors for £15 per hour, at the time i was looking into getting a tractor but i couldn't justify it , i'm not big headed but i think my time is worth at least £10per hour if i was a plumber,sparky etc i would be charging much more and in our field we are just as skilled.

This is just man and tractor no machine!

When i was self employed 6 years ago there where people going out with 140hp tractors for £15 per hour, at the time i was looking into getting a tractor but i couldn't justify it , i'm not big headed but i think my time is worth at least £10per hour if i was a plumber,sparky etc i would be charging much more and in our field we are just as skilled.