Best way to photograph models??? Camera settings?

Does anyone have any tips or advice on how best to photograph models? Might sound like a silly question but I need to go through my collection and I want to get pictures from a few angels of each model. But lots are boxed, so reflections are a nightmare, I don't have time to put take photos in the sunshine. I've set up a white floor, background and sides and put 2 desk lamps on shining in but I cant see to get it right, does anyone use any specific settings on their camera??

I'm no expert by any means but I use a tripod and timer setting on camera. This helps to eliminate hand shake. You don't have to use flash for pictures, this is where a tripod and timer are handy as exposure times may be longer., especially in low(er) light conditions. Experiment as well with the different automatic settings on your camera to see what works for you.  I try and use a setting that brings everything in to focus, as sometimes the furthest part of a model may be a bit blurred, again tripod and timer are used. The great thing with digital cameras is that unwanted pictures can be deleted. I hope this is of some help.

Thanks Paul, I've bought a tripod but the timer suggestion makes perfect sense. I'll try that definitely, thank you. I've tried nearly every setting I have and narrowed it down to 2. The problem is the big difference between boxed models, models inside display cases (like MFM) and loose models. All need slightly different attention.

The pictures are of a MFM Case without the flash (but lit with lamps), and then using a lighting type setting (cant remember what its called sorry), with the lighter setting you get all the detail but it makes the tractor a little pink.

P1050644.JPG

P1050649.JPG

1 hour ago, Keef921 said:

My photos always came out a bit off colour until I changed my lamps to daylight lamps.

Yeah, daylight bulbs are great! I added them to my attic layout and couldn't believe how good they were.