BRITAINS 135F Disc harrow & 138F Four furrow plough

BC

I bought the following two models in Duck and egg boxes at auction on Saturday.

According to the Peter Barron book 135F was issued in 1950 and 138F was issued in 1951. I was wondering if anyone could tell me how long these models were issued for ???

post-839-13263870706_thumb.jpg

post-839-132638707062_thumb.jpg

What lovely models Bill... Sadly I'm no Britains expert, so I can't help with your question... but they look superb all the same...

Yes I was very taken with them Marky especially with the duck and egg boxes and the instruction sheet included with the disc harrow. They were late on in the sale so I was happy when I got the two for ? 55. Added to that was 19% commission plus VAT on the commission which bumped them up. I still think I got them for a reasonable price ???

post-839-132638707066_thumb.jpg

I am not sure how long these were produced for but I think to around 1961, anyone with the Britains catalogues from those periods would be able to tell you mor precisely. The disc harrows came in various colours, blue, red and green. The 4 furrow plough had 2 slight variations, the first issue having a metal rear furrow wheel, which is rarer to find, the second one had a plastic one and the green paint was a brighter more shiny green as the more dull earlier paint (on all models) had a high lead content which was banned in the early 60's.

I am not sure how long these were produced for but I think to around 1961, anyone with the Britains catalogues from those periods would be able to tell you mor precisely. The disc harrows came in various colours, blue, red and green. The 4 furrow plough had 2 slight variations, the first issue having a metal rear furrow wheel, which is rarer to find, the second one had a plastic one and the green paint was a brighter more shiny green as the more dull earlier paint (on all models) had a high lead content which was banned in the early 60's.