hedge cutting

fendt-man-matty

what are the best tips to doing well with hedge cutting?

i already know that need a tractor with a strong cab, bonnet covered up and other parts protected.

and 100% concentration

what the best advice can give for doing well at hedge cutting?? :-\

Get a 6 cylinder tractor as it will be more stable, cab strength is irrelevent but needs to have good side visibility, best of the older tractors for it is an SG2 cabbed JD ;)

As for the actual job it is a highly skilled job where you need to keep your wits about you, always looking out for hazards in hedgerows and the undergrowth, not always possible, I myself have had inch thick wire left by BT tangled up in the machine. It is a slow job which cannot be rushed, a good finish on a hedge may take 2 or more passes over the same bit so you need patience. It's not something I would recommend a complete novice going into, it is a job where if you get it wrong and make a balls up it will be visible for the next year at least and you'll never be invited back. Some farmers will only use a contractor for the jobs they won't or can't handle so your equipment will get a lot of abuse.

As for choice of machines, the older B range Bomfords have a poor head design but a strong arm whereas the McConnels are the other way round with weak arms and excellent heads, older Spearheads aren't worth bothering with, although they were built well the heads were under powered. Now though all these machines are on an even keel with eachother but for contracting you will need a machine with between 5 and 6m of reach, new something of this size will cost over ?10k, second hand hedgecutters require a thorough going over due to the sort of life they lead

Well i find that each hedge is different from the last there is a good side and bad side to each hedge south faceing having more to cut than the north  :o