Massey Ferguson 590

milo

Hi, this is my first post!!!

I have been collecting all sorts of farm models for a few years now and I have purchased a Massey Ferguson 590. As far as I know, its original, but with no box. I was just wondering how rare these are as I can't seem to find any of the net. There are a couple on ebay (one on a stand and conversions).

I will soon be posting up some models in my collection and I ve just started to create a layout so watch this space ;)

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum!

You need to be careful with the 590 as there is little to identify it from the 595 (apart from decal), but a genuine one is pretty hard to find, only being produced for a year or so. Its shame you dont have a box, but you can always buy a 595 boxed and put it in that, as I think the 590 came supplied in it too, although we have also seen variations on the French issue box.

If you have any more questions, please dont hesitate to ask, we are all willing to help, and looking forward to seeing your collection!

welcome to the forum milo1989, hope you enjoy yer self here  :)

not much to add to andy's reply , the 590 is a bit of a black sheep as genuine ones are rare,but replacement decals can soon make a 595 into a 590.

as of yet i dont think there is a diffinative way of recognising a genuine 590 from the more common 595 other than aged decals

thanks guys for making me feel welcome!!!

I bought it from my aunt who got it when she was young brand new, she said as far as she knows, nothing was changed. I'll put it on my shelf where it'll stay until I can find a sure way of authenticating it.

wat about the old transport boxes? I have one in orignal box with all bits

I also have a really old horsebox in its original box, will post pics when I get home tonight