no more holy grails so what shall we collect next

ford 8830

Money. Now, I'm no expert but as I understand it money is a very rare item. I'd have a look about and see what you can find. Or gold, gold's good. . . . . . and oil, although oil doesn't come in a special box, you can get dealer barrels though :D :D

Hydrogen fuel cell, not strictly a hobby but if you can invent an economic design and mass produce it then sell it to car manufacturers, where it will appeal to the general public then you will become a very wealthy person, just remember I gave you the idea, and I will require a 10% commission for my services  ;)

Or you could do what I do and waste your money on Subaru's and track days  :-[

I shall take this opportunity to admit that I have just started a collection of vintage wristwatches, the analogue manual winding types. They must however be in fully working order and clean with the minimal amount of wear. I have been able to pick up some really nice cheap mens ones, mostly dating from the early 1960's through the 1970's and most have come on new leather straps. Most are sourced on the internet but car boot sales are a good source as well. Old watches in good working condition are becoming very collectable now and some are commanding quite high prices. Easy to store as they don't take up much room, just a lot of winding.

No Mark, no windup.  ;)  My favourite make would be the good old British Timex watches, so many styles and variants and they still produce them, although battery driven, but even now they are very stylish, retro and very cheap to very expensive but on the whole pretty bombproof and reliable. It is very surprising what you can learn about something when you start collecting it and I'm fast learning the types and names to look out for, but of course, Rolex and certain Omega types require a mortgague facility so we won't go there quite yet!  ;)