Massey Ferguson 2000 Series - Model And The Real Deal

In light of the most recent photographs Atte has posted up to forum of Universal Hobbies's endeavours to model the Massey Ferguson 2620 and 2640 I thought i'd put this topic together. Whilst I'm no expert on the "ins and outs" of the real machine I do have fond memories of the 2000 series tractors. It was a Britains dual wheeled 2680 that I remember as the first toy tractor to appear on my fledgling carpet farming operation back in the early eighties. Secondly I also had the opportunity to spend an afternoon aboard a friend's 2680 at harvest around 10 years ago.

Having regrettably sold my original very play worn Britains example around the time i'd convinced myself I was too old for pushing toys around the lounge I now have another to remind me of my childhood. My example came mint-in-box from Spalding three years ago and is one of my favourite older Britains tractors in my collection. Naturally i'm now rather keen and curious to see how the Universal Hobbies models turn out once they're ready for release.

Here's my own Britains dual wheeled 2680.

P1130770.jpg

Another Britains example that forms part of Dave Arthur's sugar beet harvesting scene.

P1120193-1.jpg

I spy a Gama 2640 on this stand I photographed at Zwolle last year.

P1120923-1.jpg

Whilst here's Johny MF's wonderful 2725 conversion seen on his stand at Zwolle.

P1130310-1.jpg

Some great tractors youve photographed in the past David!

Love the 2720! what a beast!

I am honored that you place my conversion here in the topic ;)

Kind regards Johny ;)

You're more than welcome Johny, that's a really smart tractor you've put together and it was great to see it on display at Zwolle last year. :)

Thanks ever so much too. Enjoyed sorting through the 2000 series tractors i've photographed over the years. Agree with you regards the 2720 tractors, proper beasts! :)