US guy has some questions

DeerMeadowFarm

OK, I am new to the 1:32 scale collecting and as you may know it's not a popular scale in the US so all of my models represent what you guys use. I watched some silage videos that were posted in another thread (http://www.farmtoysforum.com/forum/index.php?topic=20216.0;topicseen) and it prompted some questions for me that I hope you will indulge me and answer for me.

First of all, I live in Massachusetts and most of the farms left around here are no longer big operations. Even so, one of the first things I notice is you guys do everything with tractors. Those big dump trailers you guys use are pretty much non-existant around here. Everything we do is hauled from the fields on trucks. About the only thing you will see a tractor towing down the road around here are implements (mostly for hay production: mowers, tedders, rakes, and balers) and occasionally a wagon with small rectangular bales.

So...for my questions:

1. How heavy are those dump trailers when loaded and do they have their own brakes?

2. Why do your tractors have the yellow beacons on the roof and what is the requirement for their use?

3. When the harvester is shooting the silage in the trailer, how does he load the wagon evenly? Does the guy in the tractor towing the wagon adjust his speed or does the guy in the harvester move the chute to spread the load out?

4. How fast do those tractors operate going down the road with a load (or empty wagon for that matter) on? In the videos I watched, and from my observations in Germany, they seem to drive a lot faster than we do. Of course, most of the tractors around here are older and have no where near the nice options you have.

That's about it for now... sorry to ask seemingly dumb questions but I find the differences in methods interesting and would like to learn more.

Thanks!

Rich

Hello Rich......

I'll answer a couple of those questions for you......