Universal Hobbies County 1174

I've never done one of these before, but I thought that I'd give it a go seeing as the model has certainly created a lot of interest! 

Firstly, I have to say that I do like the model very much, the 1174 has always been one of my favourite County's, although it is often overshadowed by it's bigger cousins such as the 1884, to me it always just looked "right". UH have certainly captured the feel of the tractor, but the model is not without it's flaws.

The rear wheels sit just slightly too far forward from the rear of the cab, giving the wheelbase an extra few mm's would have corrected the stance of the model. Whilst on the subject of wheels, the centres of the rims are too far out, sitting almost level with the outside of the wheel weights when they should sit level with the rim itself.

Quality wise, my particular model had a couple of issues, firstly one of the rear assistor rams has not been put together properly, and also the small lever underneath to hold the linkage up doesn't work, so the linkage will not stay in the raised position.

Scale wise, the model is not far away at all from the real thing, and the level of detail throughout is very good, it's nice to finally see the back of UH's ugly rear linkage, even if the one on mine isn't quite up to scratch it certainly looks much better.

Overall, I think UH have done a good job in replicating he 1174, it's not without its faults, but it is certainly nice to see more of the classics being reproduced in model form!

WP_20190322_06_19_34_Pro.jpg

WP_20190322_06_20_25_Pro.jpg

WP_20190322_06_20_56_Pro.jpg

WP_20190322_06_21_10_Pro.jpg

WP_20190322_06_21_28_Pro.jpg

WP_20190322_06_22_57_Pro.jpg

Nice review John,and thanks for reminding me,the wee switch for the linkage doesn't work properly,and I think my right assister ram,isn't right,your left one looks similar to mine,like the ram has come out the cylinder,?,but your top link appears to be all painted while mine is unpainted,?